Universities should require every student to take a variety of courses outside the student's field of study.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

The statement maintains that universities should make their students to take different courses apart from their specific fields of study. I completely disagree with the claim: there are various aspects—social and professional—which requires the knowledge from different fields.

Initially, the primary reason why I disagree with the claim: a particular student, although, pursue his/her specific field and excel in their subject of interest, there are various social factors they need to know in order to adapt society, where they are living and contribute to them. For instance, a student who has studied social work, would like to help to solve various problems of society—poverty, sexual violence, women empowerment etcetera. Acquiring basic aspects of art and technology will really assist them to carry out creative awareness programs to solve such social problems. For instance, street dramas will be helpful to expose the sexual violence that has detrimental effects in the society. Knowledge in the various fields, in fact, helps to contribute to the society and adapt to it.

Furthermore, after completing the educational fulfillment, when students onset their professional career, there are number of related fields they will encounter; hence, basic knowledge of all these fields are imperative to the students. To exemplify the above mentioned position let us take an example of engineering profession. Apart from the advanced and basic skill-set of the respective field, some other facets, such as technology, culture of the particular group where one is working, moral standards, environmental effects, economic perspective is necessary for the engineers. To illustrate, some of the mobile software’s are efficacious in recording number of labors in the construction site rather than recording it will pen and paper. So if they do not possess knowledge from these kinds of fields, the on-going project and their efficacy in the field will turn out to be inconsequential. Hence, various professions require basic knowledge from the various fields, which are not included in school curriculum.

On the flip side, some people might argue that learning from the diverse fields will make them less productive in acquiring knowledge, and in turn they are less likely to get job in the future. But in the modern age of the competency, many of the professional fields require Tran’s disciplinary fields. For example, a person from the field of environmental sciences needs the integrated knowledge from physics, chemistry, biology, geology and social sciences. They need to study each fields independently and interrelate later for the better understanding of the environment. Had they discounted these indispensable fields from their education career, they would not be able to excel in their respective field. Hence, studying the trans-disciplinary fields would help to flourish personal development and contribute in huge respect in the given field.

In the conclusion, it is necessary to study various fields outside the subject of the study for the students; it will surely help students to adapt society where they are living and contribute to them, enhance in professional career. Universities are responsible to guide them and encourage them to do so.