Teachers' salaries should be based on the academic performance of their students.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

The statement asserts that the salary of educators should be based the degree of the performance of their students. I completely disagree with the statement’s assertion: students’ performance depends upon number of factors and there are some ramifications to approve salary for teachers relying upon the students’ performance over the year.

Initially, the primary reason why I disagree with the claim is that when teachers are sanctioned the salary depending upon the students’ performance teachers are more likely to be biased. For instance, let us take an example of the typical school scenario of sub urban schools. It is likely that most of the people are deprive of the facilities as well as impeded by the economic growth in the society. Being an individual member of that teacher have to fulfil their basic needs to survive. Hence, when the teacher’s salaries are based on how their students perform in the final examination, they are likely to be biased and give good grades to their students. This will result in the teacher’s acclamation among the society and in addition, will result in increase in salary. On the flip side, student’s actual test of knowledge will be left of alone, which may hinder in the overall development of the students as a responsible citizen of the nation.

Furthermore, the overall performance of the students largely depends upon their determination and effort on the personal basis, provided that teacher gives his/her complete effort as a responsible educator. Despite the fact that teacher is devoting full effort and time, the students may not put on equal effort commensurate to that of teachers. Moreover, some other factors—such as poverty, family problems, and health problems—may affect the overall performance over that period of time; it will ultimately hamper the teacher’s income for all his hard work and dedication.

Hence, in order to reconcile this discrepancy, teacher’s salary should be based on how teachers perform in the classroom. It can be carried out through his/her aptitude test, questionnaires among the students about the efficacy of his teaching methods and constant examination of the teacher’s effort and determination. During recruitment of the teacher for the particular subject, expert committee of the school administration should be formed and the teacher’s aptitude test can be examined through various workshops. In addition, review of the responses from the students of his/her teaching methodology, moral behaviour, and effectiveness of their teaching may signal the overall performance of the teacher. If the teacher fails to prove his/her position as an educator, it will be eligible to remunerate him/her on the performance basis. In contrary, however, the dedication and effort along with overall performance of the teacher is very impressive, it will be biased to provide salary for him on the basis of teacher’s performance.

In the conclusion, it will not be justifiable to form a student performance as basis to provide salary to the teacher: it is likely to make the teacher’s bias resulted due to the inclination to get higher salary. Also, there are many other factors will largely determine the students’ performance. Other methodologies can be implemented to gauge the overall performance of the teacher and thus salary can be appropriated based on the performance.