A nation should require all of its students to study the same national curriculum until they enter college.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

(Waiting for your valuable comments)

Education indeed plays the vital role in the development of overall personality of individuals in terms of knowledge, adequate skills and moral etiquettes in turn accounting the overall development of the nation. Developing the standard curriculum is the vital task as the future of the students depends upon what they have learned in schools. The statement maintains that a nation should require same curriculum to study for all of the students to the time they enter the college. I agree with the author’s claim to the great extent; however, there are some aspects that are needed to be considered.

Keeping same curriculum in the school level will surely enhance the right of equal education for all. Uniformity and equality in the education around the different parts of the nation will afford student will same level of competency, thus ensuring equal opportunity while they enhance in the future. For instance, let us take an example of Kathmandu and Jumla, where the former is capital city of Nepal and later is one of the rural villages of the nation. Surely, the students of capital Kathmandu get good quality education, whereas the students of the Jumla are deprived of education and the curriculum of that area vastly differs from its capital. Consequently, the latter student who will reach out for further education is short of various problems—such as language proficiency, basic knowledge—and most likely to be out of competition of the students of same level. Had the nation provided the same or equivalent curriculum throughout the country, each and every student would be equally eligible to compete at national and international level. Probably, the latter one may vanquish too. To add, the same curriculum throughout the nation will set the standards that are required by every student to set goal for every step and proceed further. The mentioned position will be described in the next passage.

Surely, every student throughout the nation can set the goal for themselves, and prepare for future. They can set their goals of the life in which they are interested and excel. This argument can be advantageous to the students who are not able complete their schooling in one school: specific circumstances. For instance, if the parents of a particular student work at Defense Force, then it is most likely that he/she may have to transfer to different schools. Rather than distressing on the circumstances to follow different curriculum, he/she could carry forward same goals set previously, and excel forward.

On the flip side, the proposal of same curriculum could do a disservice to the students who may find their interests of subject beyond the curriculum. One of the major limitations of imposing same curriculum is that schools will be unable to include wide range of curriculums. Some of the students, in fact, may find the subject of his/her interest missing. Surely, it will demotivate him/her to study. For instance, despite national curriculum assigned with major subjects such as maths, science etcetera, some students may not find these subjects interesting and find computer science, which is not included in the curriculum, subject of their interest. This circumstance is mostly like to impede the learning process of students. Hence, some of these factors are also needed to be considered.

In sum, we can conclude that assigning same or equivalent curriculum throughout the national is advantageous in many circumstances; however, some areas are needed to be considered such a giving freedom to students to choose some of their subjects, which will surely enhance the education and future of the students too.