Two years ago, radio station WCQP in Rockville decided to increase the number of call-in advice programs that it broadcast; since that time, its share of the radio audience in the Rockville listening area has increased significantly. Given WCQP's recent success with call-in advice programming, and citing a nationwide survey indicating that many radio listeners are quite interested in such programs, the station manager of KICK in Medway recommends that KICK include more call-in advice programs in an attempt to gain a larger audience share in its listening area.

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

In the above presented argument, the station manager of the KICK radio station in the Meadway recommended the inclusion of more call-in advice programs in order to gain larger audience share in its listening area. The author claims so inspired from the nationwide survey which indicated that significant number of people showed interests in such type of programs. Also, the recent success of another radio station: WCQP in Rockville helped to substantiate his/her proclivity towards the introduction of call-in advice programs in his radio station. Here, in the argument, the premises are well-presented and well-supported, but not well reasoned: some questions would need to be answered in order to decide the efficacy of proposal presented above.

The author implies that the recent two year success of WQCP radio station in Rockville could also reflect in KICK radio station in Meadway. The author, however, doesn’t take account of statistical data of population age group and actual number of increase in listeners in Rockville. Do the both cities account for similar population age group who are interested in such type of programs? Perhaps, Rockville may have younger group of listeners, who are highly interested towards such types of programs. On the flip side, Meadway is likely to have majority of older population, who loves to listen religious programs and news more than such types of programs. If so, the number of shares of listeners could actually decrease in that area. To add, do the increase in number of listeners in that area account to significant proportion of the population? It is probable that only few proportion of the Rockville have increased in reference to whole population. If so, then hastily implementing the proposal may result fiasco; if there is significant increase in the population, however, then number of share of radio listeners could increase.

The authors assumptions of the success in increase in number of listeners largely hinge upon the survey carried out, which resulted in increase in interests of people in call-in advice types of programs. Rather than hastily attributing the survey results to the implementation of proposal, it would be watch to glean out the information of survey. What is the number of people surveyed? What age-group of people is surveyed? How many number of people addressed in the favour of such programs and how many reported against it? Probably, only few populations were surveyed and considerable population was on the favour of argument, which leads to conclusion as presented by the station manager. It is most likely that only young people were surveyed and some age-groups such as of women, children and older population is missing. If this is the case, the result of proposed argument is likely to be far form good. Clear schematic diagram of above questions would help to evaluate the argument and would help to draw the cogent conclusion.

Finally, the station manager only focuses on the type of programs that is being broadcasted in the KICK radio station; on contrary, there may be other problems that could have resulted in the decrease in number of listeners. Are there any other drawbacks of the broadcasting pattern of radio station? It is likely that other programs are not efficacious as they should be. Probably, the networking and broadcasting is not as smooth as they should be which may have resulted in the decline of the numbers of radio listeners.

In the conclusion, the author fails to develop the cogent case in establishing the strong logical conclusion between proposed methods and its likely conclusion. Some of the question would need to be answered in order to determine the efficacy of the argument.