Nature's Way, a chain of stores selling health food and other health-related products, is opening its next franchise in the town of Plainsville. The store should prove to be very successful: Nature's Way franchises tend to be most profitable in areas where residents lead healthy lives, and clearly Plainsville is such an area. Plainsville merchants report that sales of running shoes and exercise clothing are at all-time highs. The local health club has more members than ever, and the weight training and aerobics classes are always full. Finally, Plainsville's schoolchildren represent a new generation of potential customers: these schoolchildren are required to participate in a fitness-for-life program, which emphasizes the benefits of regular exercise at an early age.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are for the argument if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

(Please provide valuable suggestions.)

The author (representative of Nature Way) claims that the launching new franchises in the towns of Planisville, where the author believes, inhabitant live healthful lives, would be profitable for the company. The author maintains so: the peoples, including school children, of Plainsville are disposed to health related exercises—such as weight training, aerobics and other fitness programs. While it is possible that given premises is valid, but seems incomplete; also, author’s argument depends upon the assumptions which may or may not be valid: the conclusion is dubitable and hence it should be re-examined.

Firstly, the author implies that the onset of the new franchise in the areas where residents follow healthy life is key for their store to thrive. The author fails to address, however, whether there are number of other stores who serves for the same purpose. Perhaps, there is likely to be number of stores of similar kind which may impede the development of the new franchise. Perhaps, people may be accustomed to buying the health related products in their old traders. Moreover, even if there are number of stores alike to them, the author fails to address, how distinctive are their stores in comparison to another stores. It is likely that other stores may be superior in terms of quality, business model, and a key factor: price of the products. If so, author’s proposal is not likely to prove efficacious.

Secondly, the author believes that the people of Plainsville inhabiting their healthy life are likely to buy health related products. The author assumes, then, the store will trun profitable. Despite the fact is likely to happen, the author fails to address various others factors—number of people’s, transportation cost, rental cost—conducive to profitability of the store. Let us assume that the community around which author proposes to open the store is likely to have less number of peoples in regard to other franchise communities. To add, the transportation cost and rental cost of Plainsville community is likely to be higher. All these three elements would add to decrease in profits despite constant revenue. If so, the assertion of the author that store will turn profitable is not likely to happen.

Finally, the author infers that school children, who are required to participate in the fitness-for-life programs, contribute as potential customers. Since, the good number of people involve in health related activities, as author assumes, it is likely that products bought by their parents would be enough for the children’s; perhaps, they will not require, gym products, energy drinks, and other wholesome foods commensurate to adults. If it is the case, it is not likely to make bigger impact on profit of store.

Nature Way has developed an interesting idea that may be worth further exploration ,but committing to such a plan immediately would be a rash. There are number of variables that the store committee needs to address and discuss in themselves. It is prudent to brainstorm the left behind factors and unwarranted assumptions before launching new franchise in Plainsville. If taken, it will surely prevent the franchise in becoming miserable fiasco.