Educational institutions should actively encourage their students to choose fields of study that will prepare them for lucrative careers.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Surely, educational institutions are the best platform for the student’s to develop their personality, moral standards and skill-sets, so that they can contribute to the society as well as nation. Also, it is the responsibilities of the educational institutions to encourage every student’s and guide their students to enhance in their better future, but that doesn’t mean that only responsibility to encourage for lucrative careers. Hence, I completely disagree with the proposition that the student’s should be motivated to choose the fields that will prepare them for their lucrative careers. A contrary position would reflect too narrow objectives of educational institutions.

The primary reason why I agree with this claim is that resulting and enhancing the lucrative careers vastly depends on the student’s rather than university. It is obvious that vast majority of the students would like to follow the subject of their interest, delve into the various facets of that subject and contribute with the knowledge of that field for society and nation. Although some of the individuals are interested in the fields—as science, engineering, medicine, and other technical field’s—that are considered to be lucrative career’s, there are majority of the students who engage themselves in area’s—as agriculture, domestic business, food-stalls—and thrived in their respective professional career. To exemplify the position, I would like to take the example of a student, who has recently completed Bachelors in Agriculture and started local organic farming in his village. Introducing new technology and pragmatic approach in farming, he has astounded everyone with his skills and knowledge on scientific farming method; also, he has been earning good sum of money (profit) with his local business as compared to students with, so considered lucrative careers on engineering, medicine etcetera. Undoubtedly, the above cited example would concur that lucrative careers depend on how someone is interested in the particular field and how someone carry forward that field.

Furthermore, lucrative careers is dependent upon various factor’s such as contemporary period, change in government policies, competency in the respective field, and may be less benign after the above mentioned factor’s result to not to favor the situation. For instance, gaming is not considered as lucrative careers ten years before now, and educational institution also does not encourage students to pursue their career on the gaming technology. However, who could have thought the technology and availability of the internet would introduce gaming as the lucrative career. Nowadays, one of the major sources of entertainment is gaming and lots of people are developing games for smartphones and personal computer’s, and consequently earn lots of money too. To add, let us further take the example of nursing field in the context of Nepal. Nursing, considered as a lucrative field in one time, is now in miserable condition, as level of competency have been increased in that with limited availability for the employment. Hence, there are various factor’s affecting the lucrative careers.

On the flip side, some people might argue that encouragement by the teacher’s would play a vital role in pursuing their careers; but, it’s a career not a lucrative career. Rather than keeping the narrow mind-set on the encouraging students focusing on subject educational institution want’s to succeed, it would be practical to encourage student’s work hard and infuse strong determination on the particular subject of interest, which is most likely to make the students successful in any field.

In the conclusion, it is plausible to concede that, despite focusing narrowly only to encourage students to follow lucrative careers, it will be practical motivate students to focus on their subject of their interest: students focus and determination will enhance their lucrative careers. Also, there are some factors before considering one field as lucrative career.