In any field of inquiry, the beginner is more likely than the expert to make important contributions.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Humans' ambitions and their passion to become famous, wealthy and successful have been an important motivational factor for all their endeavors and achievements during history. Even though some people may believe that the more experienced an individual, the more he/she likely to become successful, some others, including the author of the statement above, assert that they are actually beginners who can significantly contribute to the advancement of various fields. As far as I am concerned, this is a controversial issue and a person's success in a particular field is highly depends on the field in which he/she is working. In the following paragraphs, I will explain my viewpoints toward this issue in detail.

To begin with, in highly professional fields of knowledge and endeavor, a beginner cannot contribute significantly. Generally, various breakthroughs and remarkable achievements in almost all scientific areas have been achieved by those who possess a complete mastery over that subject. They need to know different previously discussed or evaluated ideas, theories, and concepts, and based on them, form their own hypotheses, examine them, and combine their findings with accepted ideas or apply them to oppose former wrong theories or attitudes. This is actually the process of scientific methods which have been applied by all scholars and scientists during history, almost all of them were not newcomers.

On the other hand, there are some fields in which becoming successful considerably depends on being creative and imaginative. The arts and literature are among these fields. Almost all writers, especially novelists, as well as artists, such as musicians, actors, sculptures, painters, and dancers, primarily rely on their imagination and creativity to produce artistic masterpieces. Even if they are knowledgeable enough, without some levels of creativity, which lends their works some peculiarity and originality, they cannot be successful and attract the public's attention. In the history of art, there are many artists who reached a high degree of respect from the public when they were very young, For instance, Mozart composed his first piece of music when he was about five years old. Thus, in the arts, being experienced is not very influential.

Finally, in business-related fields, even though being experienced can be beneficial, it is not enough for prosperity. Successful entrepreneurs or businessmen are usually those who are exceptionally courageous and willing to encounter challenging situations and do not withdraw when confronting the first difficulty and obstacle. Such characteristics are not specific to only experienced persons. Thus, many beginners in the business fields can become considerably prosperous and known just after several years of initiating their enterprises. Admittedly, past lessons and experiences may help them to predict various problems, prevent them, or solve them more effectively, this feature is not the only necessary trait to become successful in these fields.

In conclusion, to decide about the contribution of a person in a field, we should consider the kinds of activities they have to accomplish and the amount of mental capability, creativity and knowledge, they must possess to be successful.