The best way to teach is to praise positive actions and ignore negative ones.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Teaching and learning are the most important ways of improving and developing in various aspects of life. All humans need someone from whom they can learn different things, from literacy and other academic skills to moralities and positive and appropriate behaviors. There are, however, many controversies over the best ways of teaching among ordinary people as well as specialists, and some of them, including the author of the above statement, believe that the best way of teaching is to ignore the learners' negative actions and just praise their positive behaviors. Personally, I cannot completely agree with this notion, and in the following, I will explain my viewpoints about this issue in detail.

To begin with, frequent use of this policy may have harmful and deleterious effects on individuals' personal, occupational, academic and social life. When a negative behavior or action is ignored regularly and during a long period of time, it can take the form of habit and after a while, it becomes one of the person's usual behavior and method of confrontation. Eventually, unfavorable actions can cause various unpleasant consequences for individual him/herself and his/her surrounding people. For example, an employee who is not diligent enough in his work and makes egregious mistakes in the preparation of business contracts may cause serious damages to his company's reputation and capital. In addition, he may lose his job because of his negative habit which has formed during years of being neglected by his educators. His company managers also need to compensate for various similar losses regularly if they tend to ignore employees' negative actions. Thus, we cannot ignore any negative behavior or habit, especially those that are detrimental.

Another important point about this issue is that applying such a policy can prevent people from improving their personality, skills and knowledge. When we ignore the mistakes and flaws of an individual in a specific field, he cannot realize his foibles and cannot correct them and promote his skills and actions. Consider a student who is learning a foreign language and he constantly pronounces words incorrectly and applies wrong grammatical structures in his writing and speeches. If his teacher pays no attention to his obvious mistakes, he is not only unaware of them but also does not make any attempt to decrease his weaknesses and correct his misconceptions and misinterpretations. Therefore, educators should not disregard all kinds of negative behaviors and actions on the pretext of using the best way of teaching.

Even though paying no attention to incorrect behaviors that may be detrimental to many learners and individuals, there are some situations in which exploiting this policy is more beneficial than mentioning individuals' wrong behavior or attitude. Such situations include all settings when showing negative or incorrect behaviors is harmful neither for the person him/herself nor for others. In addition, in many situations, especially in social settings, mentioning these foibles and wrong actions may make people distressingly embarrassed and be emotionally and psychologically disturbing. Mistakes which people carry out in their personal affairs, wearing clothes, applying a tool, or spending their leisure time are among these unimportant mistakes which we should not be very stern about.

In conclusion, except for some specific situations in which mentioning an individual's negative behavior or action may result in embarrassment and is not actually necessary, I believe that ignoring negative actions can be significantly harmful and hinder the learners' progress and development in various aspects of life. Thus, teachers and educators should use the policy with great care and caution.