People's behavior is largely determined by forces not of their own making.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position

Humans are very complicated creatures. Their characters and behaviors can be influenced by various factors, from the very external variables such as media to unknown and hidden internal factors such as their own attitudes, beliefs and thoughts. In the statement above, the author implies that people do not have considerable control over their different behaviors and they are actually under the influence of circumstances and forces. Personally, I mostly disagree with this notion and, in the following, I will explain my viewpoint toward this issue in detail.

To begin with, believing in this statement brings about into question the concept of "individual responsibility". If people's behaviors are inspired by different forces, they cannot be held responsible for their favorable and adverse actions because they can effortlessly claim that they were at the mercy of those forces when they were engaged in a specific situation. For instance, a murderer who killed his spouse or friend cannot be arrested or sentenced because he may assert that he was under the influence of extreme rage, jealousy or fear at that moment. A governor who endangered people's life and property by paying no attention to the victims of a natural disaster can easily attribute his negligence to being overwhelmed. In such situations, the prosecution, interrogation and punishment of culprits are actually useless and meaningless.

Another important reason to believe in this point of view is that acceptance of the power of forces and their roles in humans' behaviors, the process of achieving success loses its value and significance. Generally, in order to fulfil a goal and becoming successful, an individual has to set a valuable goal, make a detailed and calculated plan for himself, undergo a series of hard works, and remain committed and consistent to pursuing this path despite various kinds of obstacles that he may frequently encounter. This laborious process cannot be undertaken without intentional planning and deliberate endeavors. However, regarding the above position, people cannot carry out various tasks with their own volition, and thus, they are not able to take the necessary steps to reach a goal and become successful.

On the other hand, however, there are some circumstances in which people have not control of their minds and bodies. For instance, when they drink too much alcohol or use specific drugs or addictive substances, they become unconscious or, semi-conscious. Hence, they cannot think clearly and take actions thoughtfully. Except for these states, in my view, on all other occasions, people have complete control over their own actions and they should be held responsible for them.

To sum up, except for a few circumstances in which people have little control over their behaviors and actions, in other situations, they are absolutely responsible for not only their actions and reflections but their thoughts and decisions. Therefore, instead of making various excuses for our mistakes and weaknesses, we should make a serious attempt to enhance our personalities and promote our powers and skills to deal with arduous situations.