The luxuries and conveniences of contemporary life prevent people from developing into truly strong and independent individuals.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Nowadays, increasing advancements in technology and continuous innovations in different fields make humans' life considerably different from the one our ancestors had. Modern technologies and numerous high-tech devices and tools have brought about unimaginable convenience. Regarding such remarkable changes in humans' lifestyle, some people, including the author of the statement above, assert that the current effortless and luxurious lifestyle is more of a bane than a boon for people and prevent them from developing truly independent and strong personalities. Personally, I mostly agree with this notion and, in the following, I will explain my viewpoints toward this issue in detail.

To begin with, people do not face very serious challenges and difficulties in their current life due to numerous technological inventions and achievements. Until recently, people frequently encountered various problems and difficult situations required them to find a solution for or a way to deal with them. Endeavors to solve daily life problems and challenges simultaneously strengthened their personality and made them more independent and determined. However, current new technologies have obviated the necessity of addressing such difficulties. People can take long-distance trips in a remarkably short time using fast and inexpensive transportation means. Household chores are not a concern anymore for many people, who can take advantage of various electric appliances to do the necessary cleaning and cooking. Accessing online information resources such as online libraries and encyclopedias, scholars, as well as laypeople, can find answers to various questions and increase their knowledge and understanding. Thus, it is not necessary for many individuals to bother themselves with searching for solutions for mundane life issues and, in turn, decrease their attempts to enhance their determination and resourcefulness to overcome such difficulties.

Another equally important reason to hold this view is that luxurious and convenient life has made the current generation lazy. They are usually highly reluctant to change their conditions if they know that they may be deprived of their effortless and convenient life. Generally, convenience is highly addictive and many people get accustomed to it quickly. As a result, they mistakably forme this illusion that becoming successful and developing an independent and strong personality is also easy. However, the success still has the same old formula, which is setting a valuable goal, making considerable efforts and doing continuous hard work, and being committed and constant to pursue the path to fulfill the purpose. Hence, by encountering the first obstacle in their path, many people give up struggling and prefer to continue their same convenient ordinary life.

Even though in my view, technology and its subsequent convenient life result in some disadvantages for human beings. it admittedly has a major benefit, which is providing more free time for people. Many people usually devote this free time to entertaining activities. However, there are some people who exploit this time to work on themselves and improve their qualifications, capabilities, and in turn, their personalities and social position. Among these groups are women who has been able to promote their personal and social positions in society after substantial comfort came into their life with the advent of technologies. In the contemporary world, we see many women who are prime ministers, ministers, managers of giant corporations and social and political activists. Such women are those who are not bound with the responsibility of house works and child care anymore.

In conclusion, except for special groups of people who can take advantage of the merits of new technologies and their consequent conveniences, lavish and extremely effortless lifestyle prevents many individuals from becoming independent and successful by making them unwilling to experience real challenges and endeavors required for this purpose. In order to offset their negative effects, we should maintain a wise balance in applying technologies and making efforts to reach our valuable goals even if they seem too difficult to achieve.