It is more harmful to compromise one's own beliefs than to adhere to them.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Our beliefs and attitudes play an important role in our lives. Our various experiences shape our principles and they highly influential in the quality of our well-being and success in all aspects of life. Different people possess various beliefs about a specific thing and varied attitudes usually cause controversies and even hostility among people. Hence, some people believe that compromising our beliefs is a good strategy to prevent interpersonal problems. As far as I am concerned, compromising our beliefs is more bane than a boon, and in the following, I will explain my viewpoints about this issue in detail.

To begin with, adhering to beliefs enable us to enhance our self-dignity or at least prevent us to lose our respect toward ourselves. Values and beliefs form a foundation for our identity and personality and significantly influence our emotions, behaviors, interpretations, and thoughts. If we frequently compromise our beliefs to gain temporary benefits and pleasures, we will lose respect for ourselves and our self-image will spoil to a great extent. Consider a person whose basic value is being honest in all aspects of life. In special circumstances, such a person may be tempted to do an immoral action, for instance, bribing a police officer or a company manager to overlook his illegal trading of smuggling goods or addictive drugs. After a while, the image he has had of himself as an honest person will disappear. Instead, he increasingly feels anger and deep hatred toward himself which can be too painful and bothersome. Thus, blindly compromising our beliefs can hurt our identity and self-esteem.

In a broader outlook, compromising beliefs can be detrimental to the entire society. A community compromises of individual people and when each person tends to disregard his fundamental values and principles for the sake of oneself and his surrounding people, the society may experience frequent and serious chaos. In such a society, many kinds of corruption are rampant. All people are enticed to surpass each other in fraudulent actions, swindles, treachery, and many immoral and often criminal activities. Not only do honesty and trustworthiness become rare in this society but also everything becomes unexpected, and consequently, the bases of the community become unstable.

In spite of my negative view about compromising beliefs and even if my reasoning seems true more about people's moral and fundamental beliefs. being rigid and inflexible in revising opinions is not beneficial for humans as well. Rigidity and sticking to one's own harmful and wrong beliefs and values can equally dangerous for both the social and personal aspects of a person's life. Consider a person who thinks that all people ought to realize his demands and desires and have to satisfy his needs. Such a person neither be able to maintain a close and friendly relationship with others nor can promote his life condition personally and professionally. Thus, complying with incorrect beliefs can be equally disadvantageous and damaging.

In conclusion, even though sticking strictly to our beliefs is not a wise strategy, especially in the current competitive world, I believe that compromising beliefs is more ruinous and problematic. Thus, we should make a balance between our different beliefs and tend to change them only if it is necessary.