Scientists and other researchers should focus their research on areas that are likely to benefit the greatest number of people.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the recommendation and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, describe specific circumstances in which adopting the recommendation would or would not be advantageous and explain how these examples shape your position.

During history, humans have owed their progress in various aspects of life, from experiencing convenience in everyday life to advanced medical, communicational and traveling methods, to academic researches and studies. Many scientists devote most part of their lives to research to improve humans' life conditions. Some people, however, may question which areas these studies should focus on. As far as I am concerned, researches that are more related to ordinary people's life should give more credence, and in the following, I will explain my points of view in detail.

The first important reason to hold this idea is that it is morally incumbent on scientists to concentrate on issues and problems which harass more humans in the world. Generally, scientists are considered as elites in societies. They usually possess peculiar talents and professional skills which are very advantageous when the community encounters a serious problem or issue. Their abilities and qualifications enable them to address and resolve problems which many people are not able because they lack enough necessary knowledge and profession. For instance, medical researchers can play an important role in inventing more accurate devices and methods to diagnose various diseases more reliably, developing more effective and less invasive treatments, and more advance preventive methods, such as new vaccines, and determining impaired genes which can result in specific disabilities. Thus, scientists have an important responsibility in relation to their societies and people.

Moreover, scientific researches that bring about the limited application for people and societies as a whole are usually considered as a waste of time, money and resources. Generally, academic studies require advanced technologies, expensive equipment, and huge financial resources to be done as they are planned. In addition, it takes usually long times, even some years, for a study to be reached to the desired results. Considering such high demands, the governments and research organizations are often reluctant to invest their resources in fields of studies that do not bring about feasible advantages. Thus, it is not actually cost-effective and logical to allocate valuable society's resources to endeavors which may not produce considerable benefits for almost all people in the community.

Even though I believe that the researchers should devote their attention to investigate issues that are beneficial for the greatest number of people, it does not necessarily mean that studies that are not related to ordinary life conditions should be dismissed. These kinds of studies can be also useful because they not only contribute to the improvement of other fields of knowledge but also gratify humans' ambitions. Consider outer exploration endeavors for instance. Such studies provide scientists with more information about the composition of the other planets' atmosphere and their mass; hence, expand our knowledge in other areas, particularly chemistry, physics and mathematics. Furthermore, such studies can satisfy the desires of passionate researchers who tend to know whether the human can live out of our planet or even the solar system someday.

In conclusion, although doing research in less conventional areas contributes to the expansion of the science, I believe that most academic research should be carried out to enhance human beings' life because it is morally important and hinder wasting nations' wealth and resources which can be applied in other more vital areas.