Any person who knowingly commits a crime to break his social contract should be denied his civil rights and not allow to obtain the fruits of his labor.

Civil rights are the fundamental, basic right of every individual. A person can not be simply denied, his fundamental rights, in any circumstances. It is true that some restrictions/ limitations can be imposed upon such rights, in some special circumstances, but still every individual has the fundamental right to benefit from the sweats of his labor. I mostly disagree with the claim provided above. In my view, it would be a despotic form of governance, to deny the civil rights to any individual.

First of all, we must consider the fact that, just in case a person committed a crime knowingly , does not necessarily brand him as a vicious criminal. There have been many circumstances in which a benevolent individual knowingly broke the social contract only to end the injustice prevailing in the society. Let us consider the political history of Nepal for an example. Before the advent of democracy in 2007, the civilians were forced to sustain under the authoritative regime of the Rana government. Even the basic fundamental right of education was considered a prerogative of the ruling class. Many political leaders raised their voice to end this cruel governance and they rallied the people, demanding for establishment of democracy. During this entire endeavor, they were well aware that, they were breaking the "social contract" established by the Rana regime. If this perspective had stymied their actions, then the establishment of democracy and rule of the people, would have still been a chimerical dream of Nepalese people. Eventually, many of this leaders were captured and imprisoned by the Rana government, but this does not imply that such benevolent leaders should have been devoid of their civil rights.

Secondly, let us take a well known example. It is well evident that many prisoners are provided the right to be engaged in some type of works, within the prison boundaries and earn some money or learn some skills. If it was to be established that denying this right of benefiting from their labor, would have been beneficial in any ways, then the above mentioned provisions would not have been provided to the prisoners. In fact, in my views, this amenity, additionally helps in redeeming of the prisoners and establishes a human sentiment in them. Furthermore, we can simply look at the provision of granting pardon to minor peccadilloes in the form of "community services". Such provisions were established on the fact that, when a convict works to pay off his crime, it will hasten the process of redemption.

However, it is often argued that,in some cases the viciousness of crime committed by the person is so repugnant, that it is better off to punish him by denying any form of civil rights. Although, this is not a completely implausible statement and many countries try to follow this, by establishing provisions of death punishment to the guilty, but still we must consider the fact that there may be some other way of making the sinner pay for his crime. This should not be considered as the ultimate decision, and the fact that there is still some other way and we should be able to provide a second chance to the criminal to atone for his crime, should not be discarded. So, to conclude, in my view, complete detainment of civil rights or the right to benefit from his/her labor, should only be allowed, in extreme cases.