Do you agree or disagree with the following statement?

At universities and colleges, sports and social activities are just as important as classes and libraries and should receive equal financial support.

Use specific reasons and examples to support your answer.

Sports and social activities have started to be an integral part of many universities, nowadays we can even see many student groups working solely for the similar purpose. However, it is also true that their significance can never be held over the primary needs of any educational institute; classes and libraries. The debate over which activities should receive majority of the financial aids can held many views, however, in my view both of this activities are at par and sports and social activities should receive equal financial support for the following three reasons.

To begin with, every educational institute aims to provide the best education by promoting the intellectual and mental growth of their students and classes and libraries are the best way of doing so. Although, recreational activities like sports and social programs also hold a similar place in this purpose. continuous studying makes every body monotonous and will eventually lead to decrease in performance and recreational activities do just the perfect job of breaking this chain. For example, during my college days, we has a badminton court right at the center of the college ground. It was a perfect break from the hours long studying and recharging our brain for the rest of the day. A single game used to make us active and fit for rest of the day. So, in this way these activities work to increase the performance of the students and prevents studying from being a boring task.

Moreover, such activities are a great way of increasing the collaboration, harmony and cohesion among the students. The success of any work depends on the group effort and the same principle also applies to colleges and university. Under such circumstance, sport and social activities do the perfect task of developing the feeling of mutual understanding among the students. For instance, during the beginning days of my college life, I had a hard time making new friends, since this were a group of completely new strangers for me. However, after few days, a welcome program was organized for all the new students. This program encouraged all of us to work together and this helped me a lot to know new people and make new friends. In this way, the above mentioned program are a pivotal way of increasing harmony among the students.

So, to sum up, in my opinion sports and social activities should receive equal financial support as classes and libraries for their equal importance and worth. They play an important way of refreshment and social bonding among the students.