3. In general, people are living longer now. Which of the following do you think is the main cause of this phenomenon?

• Technological improvements

• Changes to education systems

• improvements to our diets

Generally speaking I'm of the opinion that the major cause of higher life expectancy of people nowadays is because of technological improvements. I feel this way for several reasons and I will try to explain some of them in the subsequent paragraphs.

To begin with, many diseases can now be easily cured because of technological improvements. I'll be the first one to admit that there are still a lot of diseases for which cure has not been found although modern technologies are available with us. However, let us now consider deadly diseases of the past which are now easily curable just because of modern inventions. To be more specific, modern technologies now are so advanced that we can now protect us from life threatening diseases even before they attack us. I can relate to this with my own personal experience. As soon as I was born, my parents got me vaccinated for diseases like tuberculosis and diphtheria, then after six months I had shots of polio vaccine. Therefore, I already had disease fighting antigens in my blood before being physically attacked by such pathogens. And, all of this superior inventions were possible only because of superior technological innovations.

Secondly, technological advancement has gifted with us many inventions that supplement our body health. Of course, many inventions are having just the reverse effect by deteriorating our health. Yet, we now have access to thousands of health promoting machines which directly or indirectly work together to increase our health. This machines allow us to be more health conscious. For example, let us consider a typical life style of a twenty-first century individual. Every morning he gets up and starts running around in his treadmill or goes for a morning run along with a fit-bit attached to his wrist. Every meal he has, may it be a morning break-fast or a dinner at a hotel, is healthy and prepared from specific guidelines of nutritionists. If under some circumstances, the man feels uneasy or ill, then he has the option of either immediately contacting a nearby hospital through his mobile phone or may be self-diagonize himself by using modern equipment. All of this clearly shows how modern technologies have allowed us to live a much healthier and eventually a longer life.

Finally, modern technologies them self have the ability to provide improved diets and better education. This may not be the case in remote or distant locations but at this time let us consider a simple scenario. Let's ponder for a second on what constituents as an improved diet and quality education? The answer is simple, a diet that can fulfill all the nutrient requirement of an individual and is also accessible and affordable. How do we determine what constituents a healthy diet or How can we make healthy food more accessible and affordable to the people. Of course, by using modern equipment to carefully analyze the nutrient content of foods and using this data to prepare a balanced diet. Moreover, to make this food widely available and cheaper, we will need to use advanced communication and transport facilities. On the other hand, a quality education can only be guaranteed when we have better learning materials, a effective course curriculum, trained and skilled teachers and well equipped class rooms. So, to be able to provide quality education we need modern technologies. This concludes, the complementary effect of technological improvements on the other two options for making us live longer.

By the way of conclusion the above explored reasons and examples clearly illustrate the major reasons for people living longer to be advanced technological improvements. This is because it allows us to fight innocuous diseases, use salubrious modern equipment and at the same time complement our education system and dietary choices. We should be thankful for such innovations while being careful of over-indulgence, at the same time.