In general, people are living longer now. Which of the following do you think is the main cause of this phenomenon?

• Technological improvements

• Changes to education systems

• Improvements to our diets

As the time have progressed, so have humans and their lifespan too. Today, the life expectancy have increased so much that it cannot be imagined previously. I believe this increase is possible due to technological improvements and will explore the reasons in the subsequent paragraphs.

Firstly, technological advancements have made groundbreaking discoveries in the field of medicine easier. Consequently, more solutions are available to counter various diseases which were the reason of death in the previous time. Nowadays, diagnosis of every disease have become possible, which is a major factor for increase in life expectancy. my personal experience is a compelling example of this. To recall, when I was a kid I suffered with jaundice. Fortunately, the modern medicine was able to cure me within a week and don't have to go through a recovery process which this malady required. Moreover, I also escaped all the restrictions on my diet plan in order to cure jaundice. Therefore, improvements in medicine field have helped me a fast recovery without suffering consequences.

Secondly, evolution of technology has provided us with modern devices which can monitor our internal functioning. For example, X-ray can detect which the portion of the bone is cracked, MRI can display the working of brain etc. this has made better examination of human body possible and giving customised treatment. For instance, recently, my uncle was going through severe headache. It's been weeks he had been taking medicine but all were futile. One of the doctor advised him to go for MRI. The results were shocking, there was a tumour in his brain, which is causing the pain. As a result, he was operated immediately and got relief from pain. Hence, if there were no modern machines, my uncle would have been only be given painkillers without knowing the actual case.

In conclusion, I am of the opinion that life expectancy have improved because of technological improvements. This is because new medicines were discovered to treat the diseases and because the machines developed for better assessment of human body.