In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Throughout the history of mankind, all the innovations and creations were possible only when all its pros and cons were listed.It was only through the aggregation of different opinons and thoughts wether in favor or not in favor , advantages and and disadvantages were people able to frame new policies towards the benefit of the society, come up with new innovations and able to ferret solutions to the most dire problems the world is facing.Hence,I totally agree with the statement that inorder to progress discussions among people with contrasting views is required.

Formulation of any new idea or policy or law is one thing,however, its consequence on the people it is being imposed upon is another.Hence, before implentation of any such ideas all the pros and cons should be listed.We can't just consider one side and ignore the other.According to the Indian constitution, inorder to pass any bill, voting must be conducted among the members of Lok Sabha and Rajya Sabha .Since, the members comprises of people from different political parties they are bound to have different opinions then the members of the ruling party who are trying to pass the bill.Because of these contrasting opinions, all the ups and downs of the proposed bill is bound to be discussed before the voting.This ensures that no bill that is not in the best interest of the citizens are not passed.

Therefore, it is only through discussion and debate, can an idea or a solution be progressed.If we take only a one sided approach in any given situation, problems are bound to arrise which many times might not be able to solved later, hence, creating serious implications