In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the passage, the Prunty County wishes to imply the same road improvement techniques implied by the Butler County 5 years ago since, their effort of lowering speed limit from 55 to 45 kmph to reduce accidents had failed .The Prunty County state that due to the improvements techniques Butler County have reported 25 percent less accidents in the last last compared to five years ago and still have a speed limit of 55 kmph.However ,their assertion that techniques will work form tehir County as well lack evidence and information without which making such decision will be rash on their part.

Firstly,no information is given reagrding the popoulation density of the two County's. tTe techniques were implemented in the Butler County 5 years ago. Maybe at that time the population density was higher than today but due to less job opportunities, family sarting moving out of the County to different place and resulted in less population and eventually less vehicles .Hence, lower number of accidents maybe due to presence of less number of vehicles and has nothing to do with the applied techniques.The Prunty County should look into other Countys with comparable population and observe their methods of controlling road accidents.

Secondly, Prunty County claims that their effort of lowering speed to 45 kmph has failed and also, many were seen exceeding the limit.However, no data is given about the number of people and what age group they lie in, violating this law.May only a few number of people are exceeding the limit and that too from a certain age group.It is unlikely that older people will drive rashly,it is usually the young ones who have recently got their license.In such a case , the governing authority of the Prune County should include traffic safety classes in school curriculum in order o make the youngsters aware of the horrors of exceeding speed limit.

From the above reasoning and alternate situation, it becomes clear that Prune County shouldn't just implement the rule.Without clearing the ambiguities

it will be rash on their part to do so.