Formal education tends to restrain our minds and spirits rather than set them free.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Education is not only a requirement but also the right of each and every child.It doesn't only teaches them to read and write but also helps in development of their character.The statement states that formal education tends to tends to restrain our mind rather than set it free.However, I don't agree to it for a number of numerous reasons.

Formal education is the very essence of the Educational institution.With this approach only,the world has produced a number of laureates and nobles working in different fields and exploring new possiblities to enhance their field.This universal schooling approach which starts from pre school to high school and then to college doesn't restrain their mind but help grow their mind. This form of education teaches the students to develop the concept of thinking without which they won't be open to new possibilities and ideas.Wether it be a musician ,doctor or actor, everyone goes through this process.If this type education would have restrained their mind and spirit, Elton John wouldn't be a famous singer or Sachin Tendulkar a marvelous crickter.Formal Education didn't restrict them rather helped them to identify their true potential.

Even if some unconventional route were to be taken for education, it still would have captured some essence of formal education.In whichever way a kid is taught, the beginning remains the same.He has to learn to read & write, do assignments and study various subjects.Home schooling, which is practiced quite a lot these employs different method of schooling.The child rather than going to school is taught at home by a his/her parents.Even This form of schooling also follow on the footsteps of formal education with the child studying different subject,doing assigments etc.

In Recapitulation, Every form of education is in some way binded to roots of formal Education.Hence,it would be wrong to think that it bind us.In fact 'Formal Education' rather set us free