Some people believe that in order to be effective, political leaders must yield to public opinion and abandon principle for the

sake of compromise. Others believe that the most essential quality of an effective leader is the ability to remain consistently

committed to particular principles and objectives.

Write a response in which you discuss which view more closely aligns with your own position and explain your

reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should address both of the views presented.

The view presented above shows two sides . one side believe that political leader in order to be effective must yield to public opinion even if it requires to abandon their principles.On the other hand,the other side believes effective leaders are those who remain consistently committed to their

principles and objectives.However,for a leader to be effective he should neither fully comply with the public nor should he be too

stubburn in his ways and opinions

A political leader is chosen by the people and for the people.His responsibility is to look after and work for the benefit of the

whole community .However,there are times when his actions might be for the development of the whole society but a certain section of

people might not agree with it.Since,a society is a combination of people with different characters,ideas,opinions,there is always

a chance that what the political leader thinks might align with the thinking of each individual.For example,a certain district in Bihar

state of India had a very low percentage of girls attending school.Not the girl population was low,most of the parents didn't thought

it was necessary for their girl child to study since,eventually they were to be married.But,the MLA of that district thought otherwise,

and passed a rule of mandatory schooling of every child in the district till class 10.Had he complied with the opinion of the public,

most the girls would have missed on to their education.

There are times too,where the political leaders idealogies might be actually wrong and following them might work aginst the upliftment

of the people he is working for.Lets take an example. Suppose a political leader of some state dosen't believe in abortion and passes

a bill banning abortion.In doing so, he however is taking away the freedom of a women to make a choice.If a women is not ready or have

some medical issues or even might be a teenager,then having a child will be not be the most blessed experience,rather the worst.Also,the

the innocent child will have to suffer as well.

Hence,a leader shouldn't give in to the public opinion or be too obstinate.In order to be effective , a leader must asses every situation

by listening to the public as well as looking into his experiences,judgements etc. and then making any decisions.