The well-being of a society is enhanced when many of its people question authority.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

A society is a culmination of the people residing in it.The well-being of a society is defined by the well-being of its inhabitants.The well-being of the people depends upon the rules & regulations imposed by the authority responsible. If the people are happy and thriving then we can say that the authority is doing well .However,if there is suffering,poverty and corruption among the people then the reliability of the authority comes under question and hence, needs to be questioned.

The governing institutions are made up of people which sometimes influenced by personal benefits passes laws which might not be in the best interest of its people.In such cases it becomes mandatory for the citizens to raise their voice.For instance , In late 1900 American women were deprived of voting rights.However , certain section of the female society found it unfair and hence, led to the women sufferage which ultimately granted them the right they were fighting for.But, questioning authority shouldn't means violence.

There are times when only a certain section of people find the authority rules unfair as they are interfering with their convienece.In such cases,the authority is not at fault .For example, If a person breaks a traffic rule since he was in a hurry.However, it is no execuse to violate the law.These law are made for the wellfare of the whole community and if certain section find it unfair then that certain section is at fault and not the authority.

In recapitulation , Inorder for a society to grow and prosper then it becomes necessary for the people to question the authority at times in a non-violent manner.However,there are times when the reason behind people's retailiation is personal greed.In such cases,the auhtority should enforce those laws for the greater good.