The following appeared as a recommendation by a committee planning a ten-year budget for the city of Calatrava.

"The birthrate in our city is declining: in fact, last year's birthrate was only one-half that of five years ago. Thus the number of students enrolled in our public schools will soon decrease dramatically, and we can safely reduce the funds budgeted for education during the next decade. At the same time, we can reduce funding for athletic playing fields and other recreational facilities. As a result, we will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used primarily by adults, since we can expect the adult population of the city to increase."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

According to the recommendation by the planning committee of Calatrava city, they are proposing to reduce budget for education as well reduce funding for athletic playing fields since the birthrate last year was one-half compared to that of five years ago due to which number of students enrollerd in public school will reduce dramatically.With this reduction,the committee will have sufficient money to fund city facilities and programs used by adult population,which they are expecting to inrease in the coming years.The reasons behind the recommendation is seriously flawed with incomplete information and vague assumptions due to which it shouldn't be approved.

Firstly, the argument states that the birth rate is half to that compared to five years ago.However, no information regarding the overall population difference of the Calatrava city is metioned by the commitee.Maybe due to lack of opportunities in the city many families moved out and settled somewhere else resulting in overall reduction of the city population and not just that of new born babies.Hence, their assumption of adult population increase becomes vacous and putting money in city facilities and programs holds no value.The commitee instead should conduct a population count and compare it with previous years inorder to determine the exact situation.

Secondly, The commitee proposeds to reduce fund from education and other children recreational facilities on the basis of assumption that the birthrate is reducing.However, there could be a chance that the majorty of the current population comprises of young unmarried adults who might tie a knot in the future and eventually starting a family, hence, leading to the increase in the birthrate.Then, cutting educational budget would be foolish and immoral on their part.

Lastly, the authinticity with which the birthrate was calculated five years ago or last year is inclear.We can't just believe the statement without any proper documention.Maybe the commitee incharge calculated the rate with apathy or rigged the calculation due to some personal greed like that of promoting the increased budget for the adult facilities and programs.

Hence, In summary, with the above listed flaws the proposed reccomendation shouldn't be passed.