In any situation, progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Particularly, progress means to be successful by implementing certain ideas or views of people around them. In general, the implementation of a certain process or ideas requires harmony among people who have common thoughts. It is always not true that progress requires discussion among people who have contrasting points of view as it somehow creates a hindrance for further development. Thus, I mostly believe progress requires discussion among people who have mutual thoughts in common.

Firstly, the progress in fields like construction, research, and development require discussion among people who have a common ideology regarding development. For instance- to minimize traffic in the cities, the mayor decided to build a flyover to surpass the vehicle so that there is less congestion in cities road. The advocates of that plan study the feasibility of the construction, its cost estimation, and finally how the flyover really solves the problem of the congestion of traffic. Whereas, the opponent of that plan argue its structure distorts the foundation of the surface weakening the geographical structure.

Secondly, adversity groups always criticize the projects and create hindrances in the development of projects. For instance- in defaming the government the opponent group always criticizes the action taken by the ruling party in developing the cities like managing disposals, proper sanitation, dispatching health services, etc. To make it less popular in governance, the opponent party always excoriates the ruling government project either it is viable in the purpose of the cities or its population creating hindrance in the development of the cities.

Thirdly, some people having negative intentions always want to topple the system making a negative environment inside the working firms. For example- some of the employees in the firm who are antagonizing with the managers always want to defame the manager by blocking his path or actions taken by the manager in properly regulating the firms by showing only negative impacts of that action and making other employees demotivated even if the action is for the well-being of the staffs.

However, some of the contrasting views show positive effects in the development. For example- while developing new medicine to treat disease ineffective way, some critics present negative effects in human beings while testing the medicines saving millions of dollars by prohibiting of the productions of that medicine. Either, it will help the research team to discuss further and changes in the chemical compositions and making the medicine suitable for further uses.

In conclusion, progress particularly derives from the harmony of the group having common thoughts and it is always not true, some of the contrasting views regarding development help to analyze the process and helps to mollify from the effects of that process.