In an attempt to improve highway safety, Prunty County last year lowered its speed limit from 55 to 45 miles per hour on all county highways. But this effort has failed: the number of accidents has not decreased, and, based on reports by the highway patrol, many drivers are exceeding the speed limit. Prunty County should instead undertake the same kind of road improvement project that Butler County completed five years ago: increasing lane widths, resurfacing rough highways, and improving visibility at dangerous intersections. Today, major Butler County roads still have a 55 mph speed limit, yet there were 25 percent fewer reported accidents in Butler County this past year than there were five years ago.

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

The author presents two claims relating to road safety and number of accidents in two separate counties. The argument presented dosesn't make a cogent case for commisioning a road improvement project, it is rife with holes and lack of evidence to warrant such a decision.

The author states that the Prunty county lowered the speed limits on all highways by 10 miles, only to discover that the effort was fruitless, resulting in no improvemnt whatsoever. What the author doesn't account for is the possibility that 45 miles per hout may be high enough to cause deady accidents.

In addition to this, the many drivers are exceeding the speed limits, which means that either people have disregarded the change or it was too soon to judge this result of faliure. The report could have been an old one having numbers from the last year (maybe a yearly report), it would certainly raise a question on its validity with respect to the speed limit change. Or it was even sooner and the people were not informed properly, the author addresses no such possibilities.

Butler county as claimed, undertook and completed a road improvement project five years ago, and they have claimed decrease in the number of accidents in the last five years. Assuming that is true, there are again a number of possible explainations; the demography could have changed in the last five years; the number of people driving on highways of Butler may have changed; the number of highways itself maybe less that Prunty , and maybe the number of intersections may be less. the author doesn't give any hint to the status of such factors to justify a comparison between Prunty and Butler counties to justify the commisioning of a new road improvement project.

Another point the author misses is that according to the argument, Prunty faced a breach of speed limits on highways, which makes us question; will only road improvement suffice, and will the propensity of people to drive rashly and break limits not pose the same problem, which being tackled, as per the road improvement. Which raises the leaves us asking for the evidence necessary to determine that roads are indeed unsafe because of accidents because of driving negligence alone. The author has ignored the possibility of animals wandering on the roads, which can be a common occurance on roads near forests.

The authorities may undertake the road improvemnt project anyway, since inprovement is in everyone's best interest. But the authors' argument remains lacking of evidence, which would help understand the whole picture before making an informed decision.