The following appeared in a memo from the director of student housing at Buckingham College.

"To serve the housing needs of our students, Buckingham College should build a number of new dormitories. Buckingham's enrollment is growing and, based on current trends, will double over the next 50 years, thus making existing dormitory space inadequate. Moreover, the average rent for an apartment in our town has risen in recent years. Consequently, students will find it increasingly difficult to afford off-campus housing. Finally, attractive new dormitories would make prospective students more likely to enroll at Buckingham."

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence is needed to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

While it may be true that to incorporate the needs of students, new dormitories are needed, but the author's argument doesn't make a cogent case for the construction of new dorms. The argument is rife with statemants lacking evidence in support of them.

The author states that the enrollment in Bukhingam College has been increasing lately, but doesn't mention the rate of growth and data that would support such a claim. Even if the data is readily available, there has to be a limit on how much enrollment per year increases, and it can even decrease. The statement in which author vaguely points according to current trends to the number 50 which the author claims to be the number of years it will take to make the existing space inadequate. 50 years is a big number and is certainly too long for the enrollment growth numbers to hold reliably.

While the claim that house rents are on a rise, there still needs to be the evidence on how much the rent rises and does it exceed the nominal earning capabilities of the average household or is the rise synchronous with the inflation.

Even students need to be taken into consideration be it is after for them the dormitories are going to be constructed, some students may purposely choose to live off campus, some may live so close by that they choose to be day scholars, hence throwing the demand of dorms into confusion. Does the college have left over land space where it is going to construct dormitories or will they be located off campus themselves, which requires numbers which will tell if this is a viable idea.

In addition the college trustees, faculty, and students when asked may disagree to building dormitories only on the basis of a claim that after a long time they may be needed, and rather they could want an improvement of existing infrastructure, which may have a larger impact on attracting students.

In conclusion, there needs to be a deeper and better analysis of the current scenario and proper estimation of the future with some ballpark figures along with empirical evidence. The college may decide to build the dormitories anyway but as of now the author's argument doesn't provide proper evidence for that to be warranted.