Claim: In any field—business, politics, education, government—those in power should step down after five years.

Reason: The surest path to success for any enterprise is revitalization through new leadership.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim and the reason on which that claim is based.

Presently in many democracies and institutions run by a common consensus, leaderships are often designated for a predefined time frame. As the claim suggests, the tem wise policy accounts for timely review and evaluation of performance of the leadership throughout the tenure.

Whenever a leadership steps down there are a few things that happen; firstly there has to be a re-election or instatement of a new leadership. Often is the case that individuals working day in and day out at any job get a parochial sense of direction about that job, it is a natural tendency of out minds to put things in order to how it works best. This is where a new set of people come into the picture: the fresh leadership may or maynot be as competent or desired as the replaced leadership, but it without any will provide a new perspective to a certain organisation be it politics, business, schools, etc...

The second thing is, that the leadership position now open again, encourages competetion among contenders. This also promotes new ideas, as people contend for the position. This is an example of a meritocratic system; the position of responsibility is a lucrative one, on the contrary if no such opportunity is available, no one will bother to focus on growth.

Let us take the example of a resturant; it is often the case that it is a family business and family members run it together. It is statistically evident that most of these businesses fail to sustain, one of that factors is how closed the system becomes without any new input.

Thirdly it helps keep illicit and venal activities in check. Leaderships which allow people to handle money and gives a particular group immense power, it is inclined to be misused, but this cycle of replacement provides enough deterrance for things to not go haywire,and any trangressions if done are likely to be revealed in time.

Although the idea of a periodic system of change in leadership is a logical one and is widely followed throughout the world, but it has its peculiarities; one of the major drawbacks is the break of momentum when the leadership changes, especially in ongoing projects; secondly the leadership often comes into power with their own manifesto and startsimplementing that instead of continuing some great projects from the previous leadership. Nevertheless the practice is still wildely accepted and beneficial because the pros beat the cons of the system of rotating leadership and to solve the cons there is often a system of bureaucrats who remain constant inbetween leaderships, hence the idea is a good one anyway.