Scandals are useful because they focus our attention on problems in ways that no speaker or reformer ever could.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Nowadays more and more scandals are being uncovered due to widespread social media. But do these revelations help in any way is the question we ponder on. Scandals can be stated useful in many ways, as they often reveal hidden problems with the system in place, they pose a large question mark on the ethics and integrity of an organization(s) or parties involved in the scandal.

Taking the example of Wells Fargo, which was caught creating over a million fake accounts and stealing money. Wells Fargo, more than a century old bank lost its long standing reputation, its stock took a dip and stagnated while other banks prospered, the CEO and a number of other high profile individuals were fired for this. Further investigations revealed that the main goal of managers in the bank was to increase sales numbers regardless of the methods used in doing so. This particular makes us think about the importance of integrity in organizations. The other problem it points to is that it is the leadership that is responsible for imparting values which discourage this behavior and having integrity promoting systems is not enough.

Another example which questions our values as a society is the latest sex scandal discovered in 2019 in Madhya Pradesh, India. The scandal involved a leader of an NGO who also ran a prostitution racket behind the dorrs and trapped highly influential people, even the head of state, the chief minister. The perpetrator would invite such individuals and offer them errotic services and afterwards blackmail them into approving big government projects for the NGO and extort money out of them. In this case both the perpetrator and the victims are breaking the law and causing huge harm to the society.

Both the above examples reveal major flaws in the system and sparked debates all across countries on how to handle such situations and prevent them from happening again. These type of illicit activities take place at various levels and degrees, revelation of a few of them inculcates a movement countering these. Big leaders are too careful for their own good to touch such topics. therefore they are mostly addressed in informal ways by the media.

Revelation of scandals has now motivated whistle blower programs. Equal punishment for perpetrators at all levels. Preventions of sexual harrasment programs and tranings have started to happen. When they are hidden high officials get away with wrong doings and at some small level lower officials are punished.

Eventhough I agree with the usefulness of scandals being revealed, but it does permanently affect the innocent people attatched to the organizations doing it in a bad way, permanent damage to careers, lessened future opportunities, etc... The solution to such activities is inculcating a value system which deters their occurrence.