"Over the past two years, the number of shoppers in Central Plaza has been steadily decreasing while the popularity of skateboarding has increased dramatically. Many Central Plaza store owners believe that the decrease in their business is due to the number of skateboard users in the plaza. There has also been a dramatic increase in the amount of litter and vandalism throughout the plaza. Thus, we recommend that the city prohibit skateboarding in Central Plaza. If skateboarding is prohibited here, we predict that business in Central Plaza will return to its previously high levels."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation is likely to have the predicted result. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation.

While the business of the shops in central plaza may have decreased over the past two years, the author’s argument is rife with holes and a good deal of unanswered questions and doesn’t make a cogent case for prohibition of skateboarding throughout the central plaza.

Are the acts of littering and vandalism only performed by skateboarders in the plaza? The author makes no clear connection between the two, maybe the littering of trash was a long going problem even before skateboarding became popular. Another similar question is to ask about the attitude of other customers towards skateboarders, do they abhor or are they indifferent to them.

Do people who skateboard not shop at the plaza? is another question based on the author’s assumption of them not contributing to the commerce of the plaza, maybe they come to buy commodities or products, which would imply that they are customers to the shops at the plaza commuting using a skateboard for commuting. Some shopkeepers who sell products which are not targeted towards the group of people who skateboard or shopkeepers my have some personal bias against skateboarding leading them to form such opinions, the author has not shared even ballpark figures which may help estimate if the opinion against skateboarding from a sizeable number of shopkeepers or a handful.

Over the years as cities and localities grow, more shops, marketplaces, plazas may open, which points to the very important question of whether over the two years competition has increased and is now sharing the consumer base with the plaza. The competitors may have offered better prices, better variety, and newly developed plaza and hence attracted more customers. Factors like these directly affect the business of central plaza shops.

It is in everyone’s best interest for the businesses of shop owners to grow, it will boost the economy and add value to the surrounding area, but the author’s argument doesn't support the restoration of business to higher levels by prohibiting skateboarding. Skateboarders may have caused issues such as occupying public spaces for their activities and endangering accidents with other individuals especially small children and old people, for these concerns a ban might be placed on skateboarding, however, the author’s argument is unlikely to persuade such a step.