To be an effective leader, a public official must maintain the highest ethical and moral standards.Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to addre

An effective leader is one won the heart of his supporter and highly respected by his followers. The prompt's recommendation is, an effective leader should ovbiously maintain high ethics and morality. In my opinion, I agree with the prompt and arguee that to be a effective leader one have to first earn respect from his subordinates and supporter and for this he has to to be high in ethics and moral standard for following reasons.

In the bigining, before being an effective leader one has to be a highly respected person first. All effective leaders are one who is highly respected first. For this reason to be an official have to first have to high in ethics and moral values, than he will be able to earn respect. For example, the most successful leaders of indian subcontinet was Mahatma Gandhi, who had maintained an unquestionable ethics and moralitiy and maintained a very simple lifestyle which gained him respect and popularity among all of his people.

Secondly, an effective leader should not only be respected by his supporters but his also by his opponents, he have to won the heart of his anti supporters. Otherwise, opponents will not help him in overall process decision making on leading his people, this will devide his people and rise questions about the effectiveness of his leadership. For this reason he have to be respected by the opponents and only by being ethical and high moral standard he can do this. For example- African leader Nelson Mendela through his ethics and high moral values won the heart of raciest people of that time and made them self realize about their wrong doings. In this above example illustrates that, through ethics and morality a leader can earn opponents support and can be more effective leader.

However, though a leader should be respected but in modern complex fast world its very hard to be effective leader and maintain high morality all time. In some case to be an effective leader one have to sacrifice his morality to gain a better opportunity, for a better future for his people and for his supporter. For example, In this modern democratic world leaders have to win competitive elections to be in power and to win this election they have to expanse a huge amount of money. To collect this huge amount of fund they have to conniving and play tricks, they always have to influence and make unethical deal with wealthy and powerful people and groups.

In conclusion, though in some complex situations a leader have to make some conniving agreement but in the end of the day to be an effective leader he must have to be respected not only by his supporters but also by his opponents and for this he should have high ethics and moral value.