The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In this modern era, where everyone is busy as a bee and nobody has time to stand and stare, it is important to understand that new ideas and innovations can arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things. One just needs to look around in the environment and critically analyze an issue to form a solution. A simple or a naïve idea might be the solution to a very complex problem.

Taking an example of a complex field like physics, most of the laws such as gravitational laws, reflective properties arose from commonplaces such as sitting under a tree or glancing towards the ocean. Asking the question “Why”, is indeed important for creating the best ideas. This not only helps us to understand a situation better also helps us in thinking more logically. One could also take the example of Elon Musk, the most popular tech-biz of this era. The introduction of self-driving cars and cost-efficient satellites gives us an essence of the importance of understanding commonplace things. Electric vehicles, which was a far-fetched idea in the past, are now the new “trend” in the vehicle industry. This shows that if a person is passionate about commonplace things even vague or simple ideas might lead to a gargantuan accomplishment.

One could argue that looking at the current development in the research field, they might need to undergo extensive research instead of looking in our environment. This belies the fact that there is still a lot of scope of improvement in different domains which are not given enough attention. For example, the coronavirus situation has proven that the health industry, the government still needs a lot of improvement to handle these situations better. Also, with the increase of factories and industries, environmentally-friendly solutions are still a mystery in this domain. One needs to analyze these situations and exhibit their passion, determination and dedication to unravel these mysteries.

In conclusion, with the current advancements in technology, where one could get any information with a single click, and the high computational power of the gadgets and gizmos, it is much easier to provide solutions to the complex situations present in our environment.