The best ideas arise from a passionate interest in commonplace things.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

The most innovative ideas may rise from various foundations such as one's imagination or a prolonged interest in a certain topic. Although some best ideas do require a continued interest and thought about the subject, passion simply isn't enough to make ingenious discoveries. The collaboration of love and passion for a subject with a profound knowledge is necessary for a new finding, especially in the fields of science.

First of all, without interest about certain discipline in science, it would be impossible to capture the details that other may overlook. For instance, if Einstein have not had any interest in the way light travels and did not give much thought about it in a daily basis, he would not have been able to discover special relativity because without prolonged thinking, special relativity is too complicated a concept to grasp in just a few seconds. It is because of his constant thinking about the subject that enabled Einstein to postulate the constant speed of light and make the discovery of the magnificent theory. Another example would be the discovery of penicillin. Even though it seems at first glance that Alexander Fleming discovered penicillin by fortune, it really was his constant thought about discovering the medicine that enabled him to discover the drug. Without the willingness to discover a new type of pharmaceutical, the disappearance of germs would have been easily overlooked. Consequently, without a deep interest many of the revolutionary discoveries would have not been made.

Nevertheless, it is also important to underscore the importance of knowledge to be in the center of some revolutionary discovery. Einstein without his background knowledge of physics and math, would not have been able to work out the complicated theory of special relativity let alone ponder about the speed of light. Similarly, Fleming without his deep understanding of medicine, he would not have been even able to dream about finding new drugs. Instead, he would have just tried to prescribe existent drugs to patients without giving much thought. Hence, it could be argued that some background knowledge alloyed with the incessant delving of the discipline may lead to some extraordinary discovery.

All in all, both the ability to focus on a certain subject and the assumption that the individual had received some extent of education is necessary to the formation of new findings in the scientific world. If one of them lacks in quality or quantity, the possibility of discovery will be likely to plummet.