Unfortunately, in contemporary society, creating an appealing image has become more important than the reality or truth behind that image.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

In the current society, actions of an individual, corporation, and even the government is being broadcast to the public. Thus, due to the mass media the construction of a good image has become important, and it is sometimes critical in one's success. Nevertheless, the truth cannot be always hidden behind the artful image.

Admittedly, with the spread of the internet, the mass media has enabled the public to get instant access to all sorts of information. Celebrities, politicians have become aware of this ceaseless scrutiny and have started to use the mass media for their advantage: they spread pictures of themselves participating in social services, acknowledge people about their donations, and all sorts of good deeds of idols are spread through the internet. The public then perceives the prominent as generous and benevolent even though the actions were based on one's avarice for popularity and did not come from a truly warm heart. Hence, it is the image that becomes the people's interest rather than the true human behind that image.

Furthermore, the perception of a individual or the company has become a core factor in deciding success. For instance, Starbucks was able to succeed in the global market because of it's image of using high quality coffee beans and not taking advantage of child labor in developing countries. In addition, Korea in 2002 was able to raise the nation's reputation by hosting the World Cup successfully and by going up in the semifinals. The result was a sharp rise in Korea's stock market due to the ameliorated image of this Asian country.

Nevertheless, sometimes a appealing image cannot hide the truth. By showing a certain part, a good image may be constructed by deceiving the gullible public. However, there are many instances where these images are different from the truth. For instance, IU a famous Korean singer was idolized because of her ingenuine image but, was found guilty of tax law infringement: the public was very disappointed by her duplicity when she was not in front of the camera. After the incident, she lost popularity and has disappeared into oblivion.

In conclusion, creating a appealing image may be important, especially with the fleeting flow of information. On the other hand, the sustain the image, the truth behind it should be coherent.