The best leaders encourage feedback from those whom they lead.

"You don't have to be a sheep to be a shepherd", it is famously said. Yet, to be a leader of the herd you have to emerge from the same stock. After all leaders of any human race emerge not from Giant Pandas but from amongst themselves. The leader of a wolf-pack is not Mowgli, a man-cub, but another wolf.

This brings us to the question whether a leader is an embodiment of the thoughts of the led or he shapes the thoughts of the people he leads. The answer is complex and yet obvious. Usually a leader emerges as a champion of the cause of the people, a path to the aspirations and ambitions of the people. However, along the path he moves ahead of the cause, the reason for the collective to form, to then take them beyond with his vision. A leader is not a sum of parts, he is a visionary and enabler, someone who can visualize the pinnacle, chart a course and lead the team to it.

Does this mean that he does not need feedback from the flock? Au contraire, it would be suicidal to think so. In the modern political arena, a leader who ignores the feedback from his people, is doomed to fail. the captain of a football team needs the inputs from the rest of the team, for he doesn't have eyes in every corner of the field. A military leader similarly needs to obtain feedback from the from as well as the remote and the rear to assess his position. Hence, to get the best inputs, the leader must encourage feedback from his people.

The vexing aspect of this issue is whether that is his only role? To get feedback and act upon it? This is where I digress from the thought. A leader is not an accountant who takes the feedbacks and churns out a balance sheet. He needs his people to be his eyes and ears to give him inputs and to enforce a course-correction if required. However, any leader who remains within those inputs is unlikely to go very far. The essence of leadership essentially being to take the bits and convert them into larger vision by initiating and harnessing processes towards a larger vision. He is in a position of leadership to to lead, not to be led. The captain is not a messenger of the feedbacks of the team, he is the one who takes them on the path to success and victory.