"The drawbacks to the use of nuclear power mean that it is not a long term solution to the problem of meeting ever-increasing energy needs."

it would be a fool's argument that we can live without energy in the future, for this is the force that drives everything from human body to the technology made by man.

are we more dependent on technology now than ever before; there is no denying it. Were we never dependent on energy and in the absence of sources we can go back to living the way we used to? it may surprise some people but we would have to go back to pre-caveman years. even the development of the primitive man on the path to development was based on harnessing energy from fire. He went on to harness the kinetic energy of water and wind and the potential energy of a tensed bow.

As our dependence on energy increased, our quest for sources diversified. while fossil fuels powered most of human development, we have come to realise that this source won't last forever. Hence, the need for renewable energy sources became more acute and nuclear power, a hitherto unknown source, came to the fore. it was felt that this would be the panacea for all our energy woes, but this came with its own set of issues- dangers of radiactivity and the potential for exploitation as weapon of mass destruction. having taken care of these issues we can now look at the possibility of using nuclear power in the long term.

nuclear power is based primariliy on two technologies - fission and fusion. while the latteris cleaner and safer, its control for meaningful use remains elusive. so we return to fission as a source of nuclear power- it is dependent on fissile material such as isotopes of Uranium and Thorium, the known sources of which are limited. Does this mean these sources will be depleted in the forseeable future - certainly not. fact is the amount of fissile material required by nuclear reactors for the power producing processes is miniscule. However, finite the fissile material, it will last a long time. humanity which has used fossil fuels for its entire history, hasn't been able to completely finish those fuels despite ever-increasing needs.

so, if quantity is not an issue, what could impact the long-term utilisation of nuclear power? it has to be the environmental impact of the processes. that is the reason why, despite nearly a hundred years, it has not become all pervasive. Disposal of spent fuel is already a huge environmental issue. radiactive leakages are another aspect. impact of natural disasters- remeber Fukishima - on such power plants, and manmade disasters - Chernobyl stands out, make them a dangerous proposition for entire mankind.

will nuclear power serve us in the forseeable future? if harnessed and regulated well, it can be used even in the realm beyond.