The following is taken from a memo from the advertising director of the Super Screen Movie Production Company. "According to a recent report from our marketing department, during the past year, fewer people attended Super Screen-produced movies than in any other year. And yet the percentage of positive reviews by movie reviewers about specific Super Screen movies actually increased during the past year. Clearly, the contents of these reviews are not reaching enough of our prospective viewers. Thus, the problem lies not with the quality of our movies but with the public's lack of awareness that movies of good quality are available. Super Screen should therefore allocate a greater share of its budget next year to reaching the public through advertising."

Write a response in which you discuss what questions would need to be answered in order to decide whether the recommendation and the argument on which it is based are reasonable. Be sure to explain how the answers to these questions would help to evaluate the recommendation

The memo is an argument from the advertising director of Super Screen Movie Production Company giving their view on the lower attendance at their movies. They state that that even though the attendance at their movies fell in the last year, the positive reviews of their movies increased over the same period. They reason that poor attendance is not because of the quality issues but because of lack of awareness amongst the public about them and, hence, recommend an increase in advertising budget.

The recommendation is based on very weak foundation. Although the paragraph makes no clear mention of the genres of movies produced by the company it stands to reason that the attendance at their movies brings in a specific fan-base. The positive reviews possibly emanate from the same fan base and, hence, are immediately suspect.

In the first wave, movies draw viewers who subscribe to the particular genre, say fantasy, romance, comedy, horror, etc. Advertising can help increase the awareness of new releases amongst the public. The next wave of viewers, however, would be drawn-in by word of mouth publicity and reviews, numbers snowballing if it has appeal across genres. That the movies of this company are unable to draw-in viewers despite positive reviews, again points to lack of content with a mass appeal. No amount of advertising will increase viewership if the content lacks quality and appeal.

The company needs to conduct a survey amongst its viewers to identify the elements that appeal to them and the ways they can improve the content. They may also analyze secondary data from other surveys, or the reason for success of other contemporary movies. having reviewed all the elements, they can put their creative heads together to offer a fresh bouquet of content. Marketing of new content would certainly benefit from advertising to increase its reach in the first wave itself.

In its present form, the recommendation is based on a feeble argument and should be itself subject to critical review.