Men and women because of their inherent physical differences are not equally suited for many tasks.

Someone who still believes that men and women are not equal should be banished to the the caveman age, not because his beliefs are outdated, but to get a refresher in gender equality. For in that age men and women were more equal than in present times.

Such persons would also deny that man is an animal. Despite anyone's most vigorous protests we can't deny that man is an animal, albiet a highly evolved one. Can you classify man as a plant or a mushroom? A look at the animal world would clearly reveal that both sexes enjoy the same tasks and share responsibilities.

It is a fact that men and women were created equal, society created differential roles and, hence, the differences. To explore where the divide began, we would have to go back in time when the Neanderthals and other forms of Homo sapiens were still hunter-gatherers. Men and women used to hunt and forage together till the advent of agriculture and the formation of social groups forced a distribution of duties for efficiency. Yet, women continued to perform many roles which are now considered suited only for men. History is full of examples of women who were equally good in science, math, politics and even the battlefield. Madame Curie won two Noble prizes, although she unknowingly gave her life in her noble pursuit. Golda Meir, Margaret Thatcher and Indira Gandhi were stronger in politics than many of their pussilaminous contemporaries. Women have excelled even in the final frontier in space.

So why do we continue to harp on this so called inequality? Yes, there are inherent physical differences which set them apart for biological functions. In fact there are differences in the mental sphere too. But that does not make either sex unsuitable for any tasks. Anyone who wants her to be relegated to the task of a nurse, probably can't see her as an equal as a doctor.

Some may argue that women are unsuitable for military tasks. Au contraire, women have been fierce battle strategists and have led several gory battles from the front. The only time when a woman may be considered vulnerable is when she is pregnant. But anyone who has tried to attack a pregnant or nursing mother knows she is at her fiercest in that phase.

So why do we keep perpetuating this misogynistic notion? It seems to stem only from a patriarchal overarching desire to control the social construct and has none whatsoever to do with physical differences. Men and women were created equal, have continued to be equal, and if women have been relegated to and limited to only certain pursuits in the past, they are bouncing back now to claim their rightful place.