Governments should not fund any scientific research whose consequences are unclear.

Scientific research doesn’t easily bracket itself into good or bad silos, indeed it is always at the border, ready to move in either direction based on who is steering the steed. To put a blanket ban on looking for something, which by its nature is still unknown, would only hamper the process of scientific inquiry.

The very purpose of science is to understand what is around us so as to be able to harness its secrets for the growth of mankind. Scientists toil in the domain of the unknown, often at great risk to their own person, to unravel the information and to use it to further the growth of human civilization. Madam Curie worked in the iridescent light of radioactive materials without knowing its consequences. Although she finally succumbed to the object of her study, it was not before she had done enough work to merit two Nobles. Had her research been prevented by the government because the consequences were not known, we would have continued in the dark even though surrounded by the iridescent radioactivity. Mankind, and science, have grown over the millennia because of the process of scientific inquiry which not only questioned the fire and the wind, but also the distant twinkling stars and their place in the larger scheme of things.

Not all scientific research is without its cons though. For every brilliant spot there is a Frankenstein lurking in the shadows. Nuclear research gave us unlimited energy while at the same time unleashing untold horrors in the form of weapons of mass destruction. Genetic research, while holding the promise of a disease-free future and bespoke genetic code, also has the fear of unethical research producing prodigious monsters. Computers and AI while promising a simpler life through their complex algorithms, have the potential of turning on the masters themselves.

While these illustrations highlight the need for governance and control, they should, by no means, prevent the growth and blossoming of scientific inquiry. As far as funding is concerned, motivated researchers will find their sources with or without the government. The need is for effective control mechanisms.

Scientific research, to quote Captain Kirk, is to take us where no man has been before. This freedom to explore and discover newer and better options for mankind comes at the risk of isolated harmful events or actors gone astray. But the few negative events should not hold the larger process of scientific inquiry to ransom. While governmental control is essential, instead of being restrictive, it may be coupled with prudence and self-restraint by the scientific community, to make sure that research progresses in the right direction and stays on track.