The best test of an argument is the argument's ability to convince someone with an opposing viewpoint.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the statement and explain your reasoning for the position you take. In developing and supporting your position, you should consider ways in which the statement might or might not hold true and explain how these considerations shape your position.

Today's democratic society encourages the constance exchanges of ideas and arguments related to policies that directly and indirectly impact our lives. As we participate in a political process, we are often presented with opposing views on a critical issue and are asked to evaluate their weakness and strength. While it would be admirable for a person to convince people with a opposing viewpoint by presenting a compelling argument, we should not test the merit of an argument by its ability to convince those who oppose the argument.

While a strong argument may convince people from the other side of spectrum, certain issues and positions are too closely tied with people's worldview that it is almost impossible to change people's position on a issue no matter how much effort is made to convince them. For example, we often find that people formulate their opinions on a issue not based on the merits of arguments presented to them, but their ideology often makes them predisposes them to prefer a certain set of ideas and opinions. Thus, people's ideology comes before their consideration of each issues presented to them. For example, a person who identifies himself or herself as politically liberal may prefer the active involvement of the government in addressing poverty and wealth distribution. That person may be presented with a strong case that explains why in a certain case the government may be ineffective in resolving a problem, but that person still would prefer the involvement of the government because his worldview dictates that the government must take more responsiblity for the betterment of people's welfare. The same thing could be true for people who identify themselves as politically conservative. A certain problem in a city may be easily resolved with a government involvement, but conservative people would still prefer minimizing government's interference in its citizen's lives. Thus, it would be not feasible for a person to convince people who are strongly committed to a certain form of idealogy. Thus, it would not be fair to judge the merit of a argument based on its ability to convince those who opposes the idea.

The better test might be its ability to convince those who hold moderate view on the issue. People who are less committed to a certain form of ideology might approach a social issue from the standpoint of practicality, and they may be willing to listen to ideas from different spectrums. Therefore, it is crucial for a democratic society to involve people from all the spectrum of all political idealogies. The political system that only allows people with extreme views to raise their voices would result in the polarization of the society, in which making an argument based on facts and logics would not be an effective strategy in brining changes to society.

Thus, while one should definately develop a strong argument based on facts and strong logic, it would not be fair to test the merit of the argument based on its ability to change the opinions of people with an opposing viewpoint. That would make people with an opposing viewpoint both players and judge in the game. Thus, we should evaluate the strength of an argument by its ability to convince people who hold the moderate viewpoint on issues.