The best test of an idea is its ability to convince someone with opposing viewpoint. Only by being forced to depend an idea against doubt and contrasting views of others does one can really discover value of ideas

New ideas which are put forward will always be up for a debate. We can’t accept an idea to be universally true unless and until, it proves to be working under all circumstances. We can’t simply accept any idea in front of us, without questioning it. The idea’s ability should be judged on the basis of its capacity to prove the naysayers wrong.

Firstly, when person comes forward with some new ideas, he believes it to be true based on his understanding. Everyone has different prespective, the fresh mind looks at a particular idea in altogether different view. Thus, providing different understanding of the overall idea. Only when the idea is placed under such different views, can one fully conceptualize an idea, understand the background, full implications of the idea. This might even result in development of an otherwise undeveloped thesis into perfect ideas which can practically be implemented for the benefit of others.

Furthermore, the ideas aren’t tested as of yet, they are tested only when the ideas are open to doubts casted upon by others. They are truly tested only when the ideas can prove the doubters wrong. Take for instance, Ms Dhoni the former captain of the Indian cricket team, was scrutinized on his decision of dropping Sachin Tendulkar, the greatest batsman of all time, considered as even God in India, based on slow instincts in field which was costing the team extra runs. But, when India won the tri- series in Australia under tough conditions, the idea proved to be correct. The actual ability of the idea was understood. The idea proved the doubters wrong by working out well under tough circumstances. And Ms Dhoni, who was earlier scrutinized is hailed for his radical ideas.

Some might argue that, if the idea is not accepted by general public doesn’t really warranties that the idea is absurd. The opposition of Galileo’s idea of Earth revolving around the sun, was opposed by the catholic church based on strong beliefs, which weren’t backed up by logical reasoning. Such opposition wasn’t correct, as was proved later. So, the reasons for doubting the idea must be logical and not based on orthodox views. Orthodox views or some strongly held beliefs which are not proved true should not be used to oppose the idea. It should be valid situation or views based on logical facts.

Ideas must pass the litmus test for universal application. Otherwise, there can be situations where the ideas could create unforeseen circumstances.