The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation not competition

Youth is the future of the country, without them, it would be difficult for the country to survive. Since these youth are the one's, that bring in new ideas and technologies for the development of the country. As the article states, it is truly right that to bring leadership values among youth, they should be instilled with a sense of cooperation instead of competition among their peers.

Now-a-days, the competition among youth is so popular that the term "survival of the fittest" exists among the youth. The youth always competes or are trained to do so to reach the highest position than their peers. During this process, there are many who consider themselves as hopeless and are not able to reach the destination that their peers aim for. This leads to various mental illnesses like depression among the youth. One such incident was of a student who was studying in a famous institute. He could not cope with the pace of the other students and considered himself as useless. Eventually, he got out of the rat race by commiting suicide. Such heinous are the steps taken by the youth due to the competition that exists.

Nevertheless, parents also feel the same pressure, that their children should aim for good marks and degree. Parents feel ashamed if their child opts for a course that is not relevant in today's industry. Parents among the others, discuss the marks that their children have obtained and marginalize them depending on their marks. Therefore, the competition among the youth also reaches the parents. This eventually results in stringent actions taken by the parents for the children to secure good places in college or school.

Thus, instilling a sense of cooperation among youth will always help in eradicating the above situations, along with inculcating leadership and team work among youth for government, industry or other fields. The youth should always grow together despite being separated and letting others down through their journey. Such mentality would help the country as well as the youth to grow equally and in harmony.

Therefore, I totally agree with the author to instill sense of cooperation among youth rather than being in a rat race and hurting others.