The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition

The claim presented here by the author states that the sense of cooperation among young people should be instilled rather than the sense of competition. It is also mentioned that the sense of cooperation is required in fields like leadership in government, industry etc. According to author, this claim seems quite right whereas there are some arenas where competition only can help in advancing the knowledge and growth of young people. It highly depends on the field which is being considered whether the young person should behave in competitive or cooperative manner. Therefore, I am slightly in agreement with the claim presented by the author, though not wholly supporting it.

To support the agreement with the claim presented by author, we should notice the importance of cooperation in the life of young people. To mention an example, we can consider the pivotal role that team works plays in any company in corporate world. In any organization running in the corporate world like manufacturing, software engineering, product development etc. to name a few, if cooperation is replaced by competition is replaced at every single place, it will be difficult to manage the employees and produce effective work. Cooperation with one another is highly required in these fields. And if the young people only compete with each other in the company, then organization's future is in danger for sure.

In addition, if there is no competition between the politicians to win the votes for the government and no one is competing for the role rather cooperating with each other. Everyone working in the favor of the people of country or nation, it would be really good. We can also argue that lesser competition will let the politicians to think more about the actual doing rather than pleasing the people for the sake of votes. May be it seems far-fetched but that much among cooperation among the politicians may lead to fall of democracy. All the politicians working together, all for their benefits and in dearth of competition, there would be no one to raise fingers against them.

Therefore, the competitive thinking is sometimes required to foster the desire to concoct better strategies and products. Competition gives a sense of priority to the task. Competitive thinking allows to find out the loopholes and defects in order to perform better, and can produce effective ideas. Competition with constructive criticism can be useful for the society. Taking example of politicians which was mentioned earlier in the paragraph, that the politicians can use paucity of competition among themselves in a way to fool the people as there would be no one to provide criticism on their actions. If competition is present, the opponents would surely criticize and analyze every aspect of their action.

Hence, the sense of cooperation is required to produce the effective results but the lack of competition can produce a state of monopoly among any field. The presence of the sense of competition among young people is required to cater the criticism and feedback to the other people in the field. This will foster the desire to work better for effective results.