The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Write a response in which you discuss the extent to which you agree or disagree with the claim. In developing and supporting your position, be sure to address the most compelling reasons and/or examples that could be used to challenge your position.

Leadership is about giving direction to a group of people working together. History shows a list of great leaders like Mahatma Gandhi, Martin Luther King Jr., etcetera who have to lead millions of people to accomplish a want. They were powered by will and justice for everyone. They have the power of unity. Anyone leads a company or a government must learn true skills required for becoming a great leader from these legends. For society to prepare the youth to become great leaders in future, it should teach them about cooperation, teamwork and basic motives of a leader. A leader is a person who is capable of making his/her team capable to work for a target on their own. A leader helps to build and help each individual of his team to pursue team's goal. And these are only possible by a long-lasting cooperation between a leader and his fellow team members.

In any field, leadership is like a cart driven by a horse. A leader serves as a horse whose role is to give direction to the cart so that cart can go where ever it wants. A horse uses a rope tied to the cart to pull it. Similarly, a leader must use his cooperative skills to make his team move to a target. Cooperation between a team and its leader includes knowing every member's weak and strong points in different aspects so that each one can help the other in a constructive manner.

Cooperation helps to grow a team by helping its individual members. Unlike competition where a person who is better at something from his colleague gets an unhealthy edge to show his prowess. This methodology works well for a simpler goal but to achieve something miraculous, individual's motives and aims must be replaced by team goal. This basic foundation can only be inculcated in a team by a leader through cooperation and not involving any competition. And if one has to compete, then he must compete with himself, not with his colleague. This thing can only be achieved by making a leader capable to cooperate among a team where each person has his own strengths and weaknesses.

It is often thought that competition is necessary to grow but in this world, only a healthy competition can help to grow. An unhealthy competition involves negative emotions like jealousy, sense of insecurities within a team which is no good at all. One should push oneself to go beyond boundaries by cooperating with others and not pushing others to reach his goal. A responsible leader who wants to grow his corporation should know this basic fundamental to success.

Leadership, at its core, is helping team members to cooperate with other team members to improve and go beyond boundaries. A leader should know that a competition does not help anyone beyond a certain limit as it brings with it insecurities and fear of failures. A society must create leaders who know the power of cooperation and has the capability to make his team work by cooperating with each other.