The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

The writer of the issue contends that the sense of cooperation should be fortified in young people instead of a sense of competence in order to prepare them for leadership in government, industry, or other fields. As far as I am concerned, I generally agree with this statement because of the reason I delineate in the following paragraphs.

First of all, when young people are put in an environment where they should cooperate in order to be successful, they understand other senses as well, such as empathy, attention to others' needs, how to interact with people in the society, etc. Great leaders in government, industry, or other fields have a great insight into what the society needs and how to operate in order to respond to these needs. If young people learn these values in their youth, it helps them to better understand deficiencies and how to respond to them in the future, a quality that should exist in great leaders of government, industry, etc.

Furthermore, cooperation also leads to better management and teamwork as well. When people are forced to cooperate in their little projects, they understand how to deal with different types of obstacles and barriers that are faced during the projects along their teammates, which can make young people be better managers in the future. Also, they will learn how to get along with people they do not find amiable, and they can better relate and address these types of people in the future.

However, the two reasons provided above should not be overgeneralized, as a little sense of competition is needed as well to become a great leader in different fields. If no sense of competence is nurtured in young people, they might not understand the urgency of making decisions related to balancing financial matters, especially in industry. For example, if a leader did not know anything about how to make decisions in a competition in order to get the most beneficial outcome and win, he or she might not understand in the future that his or her cooperation should make decisions to be able to compete with other industries, and his or her corporation might even end up insolvent because of the inability to keep up to its competitors.

In essence, the sense of cooperation should be emphasized more in teaching young children moral values, in that it strengthens empathy and attention to others' needs, as well as learning teamwork and getting along with other people. But it should be considered that a little sense of competition is needed as well in order to be able to survive in competitional environments.