Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station's coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to our news programs and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should expand our coverage of weather and local news on all our news programs.

The writer of the argument concludes that restoring time devoted to weather and local news to its former level can result in attracting more viewers to the program and also, increasing advertising revenues. However, this conclusion cannot be accepted as it is in that it rests on a number of premises for the support of which there is not enough evidence.

The first problem with the argument is that the writer assumes that canceling advertising contracts have happened because of devoting less time to weather and local news. However, there is no evidence that actually decreasing the amount of time allotted to weather and local news led to canceling advertising contracts. For example, maybe canceling contracts occurred because of inflation and financial problems that encumbers local businesses to invest in advertising. Or maybe, the local businesses canceled their policy to advertise on late-night programs because of not being economical for their advertising policies.

Even if there is evidence that decreasing time allotted to weather and local news have resulted in canceling late-night programs advertising contracts, there is not enough evidence that these canceled contracts resulted in losing advertising revenues. Maybe the revenues are declined because other advertising contracts of other programs during the day are canceled due to eliminating of other types of programs. Or maybe the advertising contracts during other shows have declined because the shows are not satisfying enough for the viewers; therefore, fewer viewers watch these shows, and the other advertising companies canceled their contract to impede further loss of money spent in advertising in shows that do not have enough audience.

Even assuming that late-night shows are canceled because of decreasing the program time during which the weather and local news are broadcasted, there is not enough evidence that restoring time devoted to weather and local news to former level will avoid losing further advertising revenues. Maybe other people are unsatisfied with other aspects of the channel and the complaints received from viewers are misleading. In this case, even after reverting the program to its former status, the local business might not trust that this change also brings back enough viewers of the station and thus, they will not sign contracts with the station.

In the final analysis, the writer's conclusion cannot be taken to be correct because, as it was shown in the body paragraph above, it depends on a number of premises not supported by sufficient concrete evidence. The conclusion can only be accepted if all the required evidence is provided.