The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

A leader is a member of the society and is considered the most skillful and most judgemental among the people of his group. His responsibility is enormous and his concern is not only about his own interests but also the interests of his sub- ordinates. In this paragraph, we will discuss the extent to which co- operation or competition helps a leader develops his skill.

Many specialists and sociologists might argue that, without competition we won't be able to find the best person in a group and thus a leader. While that might be the truth in some extent, a leader's duty is not to be the best in a group but to make examples so that others can follow. And to make such an environment, a cooperation among the members is a must.

The main responsibity of a leader is to achieve certain objectives and to maintain the welfare of his people. As we all know, it is much easier to earn something when we work together rather we work alone. And this is the essence of the leadership. Leadership should be developed in a way that the leader understands everyone's importance and can utilize anyone according to their fullest strength. Nelson Mendela without the people isn't the Nelson Mandela we know. People don't advertise themselves as a leader, its the people who recognzes their leader and competition is not an option to make a leadership fruitful.

Many of the industrialists and politicians have made huge wealth. They did it through huge competition. They beat every competitors by financially and other means but never quite achieved the leader phenomena. They might be the big shots in some social gatherings but they will never gain the respect like Abraham Lincoln and Martin Luther King did. To be a true leader, a leader has to work with his people so that they can achieve something greater.

A collaborative person is more suited for leadership than the person who works for only himself and only competes with others to excel his skill. A collaborative movie director makes better movies than the director who likes to sit in his chair and only yell action.

Competition is a natural human phenomena and it helps us to develop our skills to the fullest. But a leader has to lead by examples. And what better way to lead than cooperation. Collaboration among his sub- ordinates and cooperation among his teammates can bring something greater, which is the main objective of a leader.