A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

In this argument, the stated that the pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints from the customers and after testing they found that, the chemicals that were used in the food were approved for the use the use in pet food; so they stopped their investigation. But to reach the bottom of the problem, they should further research. Here are some reasons:

Firstly, there is no comment regarding environmental change issue. During season change, the chemicals might be bad the pet animals. So they should research further considering this factor.

Secondly, in this argument, the author only stated about chemicals that are used in the food. But what about other processing? Like food containers and transport system. The food company should look into this factors to eliminate all the doubt.

Thirdly, there is no comment about the expiration date of the food grains. The food chemicals might be in right condition, but what about the other elements in the food? Furthermore, they should consider all the external elements to which the foods are exposed. They need to make sure the pets that were exposed to these foods doesn't have other diseases.

The way the food company responses and took initiative to eradicate the problem, is a good one and everyone should thank the company for the responses. But to solve this critical issue, the company should be meticulous and should consider all options before closing this manner.