'The following is a memorandum from the business manager of a television station.

“Over the past year, our late-night news program has devoted increased time to national news and less time to weather and local news. During this time period, most of the complaints received from viewers were concerned with our station’s coverage of weather and local news. In addition, local businesses that used to advertise during our late-night news program have just canceled their advertising contracts with us. Therefore, in order to attract more viewers to the program and to avoid losing any further advertising revenues, we should restore the time devoted to weather and local news to its former level.”

Write a response in which you discuss what specific evidence would be needed in order to evaluate the argument and explain how the evidence would weaken or strengthen the argument.

In this argument, a memorandum from the business manager of a television station is presented. It is stated that, the television station is losing revenue because the local business companies canceled their advertisement. In this paragraph, we will discuss the loopholes of this memorandum and also will ask the questions so that the executive board can decide whether they will telecast more local and weather news or not.

Firstly, in this argument, it is stated that, the local business companies canceled their advertisements and it is assumed that they canceled due to lack of local and weather news. Bur there is no concrete evidence in their defence. So, this issue should be investigated further for the actual reasons why they canceled their advertisements.

Secondly, there is no mention in this statement about the viewers. Do the viewers prefer national news or local news? If the viewers got increased due to more national news, then the tv station is on right path, because viewers will automatically bring advertisements. So, this issue needs to be further discussed.

Thirdly, due to the increasing amount of national news, are other major companies interested in telecasting advertisements. There is no mention of this issue in this memorandum.

Finally, there is no mention of how much revenue the tv station lost. To discuss this issue, it is important to have a clear idea about the financial situations before and after the tv station telecasted less local news. Upon comparing the data the board might decide whether they continue their current path or will restore to previous versions.

In this paragraph, the memorandum is analyzed and some questions were asked to properly evaluate the memorandum. The board will be able decide and ask proper questions upon reading this paragraph.