A pet food company recalled 4 million pounds of pet food in response to complaints that pets that had consumed the food experienced vomiting, lethargy, and other signs of illness. After the recall, the pet food company tested samples from the recalled food and determined that all chemicals found in the food were chemicals that are approved for use in pet food. Thus, the recalled food was not responsible for these symptoms, and the company should not devote further resources to the investigation.

Write a response in which you examine the stated and/or unstated assumptions of the argument. Be sure to explain how the argument depends on these assumptions and what the implications are if the assumptions prove unwarranted.

The recalling of the foods by the food company was a good decision. According to the statement presented, the chemicals in the food was not responsible for the pet illness. While this is a good step by the pet food company, the company should not stop their research. However, from a business perspective, many might say that, no further investigation is required and they should launch the food again in the market, they should try to find the root cause of these illness otherwise the food will never be same and the people will lose their trust on this food company. In this paragraph, some of the assumptions in this argument will be discussed and some of the implications will be presented.

The food might not be contaminated by the chemicals but the chemicals can have different effects on different environment. The food company should look into this matter and they should check from which areas the complain arise most.

In this argument, it is stated that, the company only tested the chemicals that are associated with the food. What about the other elements of the food? Where the food was produced? Was the raw materials good? There is no mention about the expiration of the foods. Before launching the pet food again in the market, the company should look into that.

There is no mention in the paragraph about the pet's health before taking the food. There is no mention that all the pet who came in contact with the foods got ill. So, the pet which got these symptoms should be checked to ensure they do not have any additional sufferings.

There is no evidence that the symptoms and the illness occurred are from this particular food. There might be problem with the water and other elements that the pet was in touch of. So further investigation in this matter is needed.

This might seem exaggerated, but the company should make sure that there was no industrial espionage from rivaling food company. Sometimes to make a competitor out of business, business companies do that.

Finally, the company needs to make a checklist to make sure all the possible reasons why this situation arose and they should take preventive measures to restrict this type of incidents.

To earn the people's trust, the company should make sure the safety from every possible angle. Testing chemicals for the food is a good start, but they should not stop in the middle phrase. In this type of situation, the company always looses trust. So, to bring back people's trust they should continue the investigation.