The best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership in government, industry, or other fields is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition.

Is it true that the best way for a society to prepare its young people for leadership is by instilling in them a sense of cooperation, not competition, as the writer contends? Some people may believe that competition would induce big gaps among people and thus make a barrier that is difficult to pass over. I agree with this viewpoint because once certain people are not good at their field, they would have hard times to overcome the gap and get leadership under competitive society. However, to get ahead of the curve in this highly competitive society, leaders have to know how to take initiatives in their field. The only way to teach this is to instill in them a sense of competition. However, as I already discussed in the foregoing argument, the competition must not be incomparably regarded as the highest value. The leadership can be effectively improved when young people compete for their goals while cooperating with others around.

Take a former president of my country. The former president No, was the icon of cooperation. He was the first president who widely opened the right to speak about and criticize his government. He never made any decisions without consents of opposition parties. Koreans would not be able to make petitions or protests freely had he not allowed public criticism. Now he is highly recognized as the father of Korea's democracy and many people still respect him. However, his temperate attitude to the opposition parties definitely inhibited him from proceeding his policies. Here, I could find the reason why leaders should know how to get ahead of the curve in competitions because the cooperation would make good conditions to talk but if there is no competition, the talk would not stop.

However, it would be detrimental if leaders highly focused on competition only. The other example is the president of North Korea. He is well known as an adamant dictator who has never cared about his people. What he knows is just how to compete with countries around. He might have made competency in this world by making nuclear weapons but he has lost faith from many countries. Now many nations must take care of his mood to stop him in a peaceful way, but it does not mean that his way to lead his country was the most effective. If he had had an attitude to solve his and his country's problem using conversation, the situation must not have exacerbated in this way.

I think leaders should know how to compete and win in a highly competitive world for his people but the leaders should also know how to cooperate with other groups because the best way to break through is sometimes to cooperate. This is why I partially disagree with the writer's statement. If leaders in this world compete while taking into account the condition of their opponents, that is cooperation, the world will develop effectively without making side effects.