Some people believe that corporations have a responsibility to promote the wellbeing

of the societies and environments in which they operate. Others believe that

the only responsibility of corporations, provided they operate within the law, is to

make as much money as possible.

Should the corporations have a responsibility to promote the well-being of societies and environments in which they operate? Some people believe that what corporations have to do is just to make as much money as they can because their right supported by laws is to pursue their profits. However, it has been proven that this opinion is now obsolete. I contend that corporations have to pursue the well-being of communities and even the world to not only redistribute their wealth from people around, but also make the most of their resources. The concept of CSR (Corporate Social Responsibility) has emphasized the fact that companies definitely have their duty in communities and by doing their best on the duty, corporations can improve their profits.

The reason why the corporations have a responsibility to communities can be simply elucidated. Corporations collect their fortune from the people in communities in which they operate. Even though any laws do not rule corporation’s responsibility in societies (simply because the ideology, Capitalism does not allow planned economy), corporations have to find the way that communities develop together with the corporations because they can develop further only when markets get bigger by means that consumers in communities also develop.

One of the examples would be Nongshim, one of the well-known international companies, which has had a big issue about financial corruption. It means that it did not carefully deal with its duty that it has to redistribute its wealth which it has collected from citizens in Korea. It was a fairly stunning issue, and eventually its market share in Korea has been decreased drastically. It was the biggest Ramen company once, but now is overtaken by Ottoogi that has shown their careful contribution to communities. The company’s redistribution to the communities does not mean loss of wealth, but rather a creation of brand-new values.

In Korean idiom, one says “The best way to climb to higher places is to pursue it together.” The corporations definitely have a strong responsibility to contribute to communities that they conduct economic activities and it makes improvement of not only the communities but also the corporations. Therefore, I strongly contend that corporations have a responsibility to the societies and they should take actions for the responsibility. This may be why CEOs in leading companies highlight the concept of CSR and take the initiative in it.